Space Configuration
Space Configuration
By setting up the space configuration, an admin can enable or disable various sharing options and define what information external users can view or edit.
How to Navigate
Go to the Apps menu in the left-side panel of Jira.
Click on External Share.
Navigate to the Space Configuration tab.
Multiple Configuration Presets
The default configuration can be edited and is applied to all spaces in the instance unless a custom configuration is assigned.
You can also create exceptions by setting up custom configuration presets for specific spaces. This allows you to apply different rules where needed.
Default Space Configuration: Applies to all spaces. (Enable/Disable)
Custom Space Configuration: Can be assigned to one or more individual spaces.
Default Space Configuration
Custom Space Configuration
If a space is not assigned to any specific configuration, it will automatically use the Default Configuration.
A space admin can further restrict the space configuration but cannot override or relax the rules defined at the global level.
Enable or disable External Share
You can disable External Share for an entire space using the configuration settings.
This is particularly useful for private spaces (e.g., for the HR team) that must not generate any External Share links. It allows you to secure a space temporarily without losing existing link data.
If External Share is disabled, all existing links in that space will also be disabled but not deleted.
When users try to access a disabled link, they will see an error message like the above image.
If External Share is later re-enabled for the space, all previously created links will become active again.
When external users access a disabled link, a Redirect Share can be configured to automatically redirect them to a new URL.
Space Configuration Options
General tab
Work item Creation: Allow work item (issue) creation on board, filter, and timeline shares.
Default Layouts
Default work item layout: Allows you to associate a specific Work item Layout Configuration. This overrides the global application layout, automatically applying custom field layouts and visibility settings to all manually created work item shares within the space.
Default card layout: Sets the default card design and visible fields for board and timeline shares created within the space.
Other Default Settings - Customize default share names
You can customize the default names of shared work items, boards, filters, timelines, attachments, and redirects.
Default names can include placeholders, which are automatically replaced with actual values when the share is created.Available fields
${userName}– name of the share creator${userMail}– email address of the share creator${creationDate}– date indd/MM/yyyyformat${creationUSDate}– date inMM/dd/yyyyformat${creationTime}– date and time indd/MM/yyyy HH:mmformat${creationUSTime}– date and time inMM/dd/yyyy HH:mmformat
Additional fields for work item shares
${issueKey}– key of the work item${issueSummary}– summary of the work item${issueParent}– parent work item key (if applicable)
Fields tab
The Fields tab controls which Jira fields are available on shared Jira content.
The following options can be enabled or disabled using toggles:
Only fields defined in this configuration are allowed on shared work items
Only fields defined in this configuration are allowed on shared filters
Summary and Description search box is shown on shared filters by default
These fields allow administrators to precisely define what external users can see and do, ensuring data visibility and editing permissions align with security and sharing requirements.
Each field can be configured separately for Work item view and Filter view, with fine-grained permissions such as View, Edit, Add, Delete, View Content and Show
Fields include as below:
Field |
Work item View |
Filters |
||
Permissions |
Default State |
Field in Filters |
Default State |
|
Components |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Key |
View |
View |
Show |
Show |
Budget_field |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Original estimate |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Space |
View |
View |
Show |
Show |
Description |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Smart Checklist |
View |
View |
Show |
Show |
Fix versions |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Time tracking |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Public Attachments |
Add |
Add |
Show |
Show |
Changelog |
View |
View |
Show |
Show |
Attachment |
Delete Any / View / Add |
Delete Any / View / Add |
Show |
Show |
Checklist for Jira |
View |
View |
Show |
Show |
Summary |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Approval |
View |
View |
Show |
Show |
Child Work items |
View Content / View / Add |
View Content / View / Add |
Show |
Show |
Worklog |
View |
View |
Show |
Show |
Created |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Reporter |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Priority |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Labels |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Weblinks |
View |
View |
Show |
Show |
Affects versions |
View / Edit / View / Edit |
(N/A) |
Show |
Show |
Due date |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Internal Comments |
View / Add |
View / Add |
Show |
Show |
Comment |
View / Add |
View / Add |
Show |
Show |
Linked Work items |
View Content / View / Add |
View Content / View / Add |
Show |
Show |
Assignee |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Updated |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Status |
View / Edit |
View / Edit |
Show |
Show |
Use toggles and checkboxes to enable fields and customize visibility or permissions.
Admins can select additional fields by searching from the drop-down menu.
lease note that these settings do not automatically enforce what is shared. They define the default set of fields and permissions available when creating a new External Share link.
Security tab
The Security tab allows you to configure link security settings, such as:
Expiration date and time: Set a required or optional expiration date and time.
Password: Allow or require a password for link access. The default length is 12 characters, but you can define a custom value.
Public Link: Allow or Disable, On/Off
Display Comments with Restrictions: Allow or Disable, On/Off
Corporate SSO Login: Allowed, Required, or Disabled. You can also add an SSO Profile (see the SAML/SSO Setup Guide).
Selected Users: Allow or require access for specific email addresses or domains.
Defining the pool of accessible users:
All users (default off)
Include JSM Customers
From share (default on): Users visible in the share. If there are work items, this also includes users associated with the ticket through fields such as comment authors or mentions in rich-text areas like description, environment, or comments
Selected users (Multi-select, default off): Use the Add button to manually include specific users or domains who should have access.
Exclude (default off): Even if a user is covered by the "All" or "From Share" options, you can use the Add button under Exclude to strictly block their access.
Fallback actor: When enabled, the system can automatically switch to a specified actor (Select new actor) if the current one does not have permission. If the fallback actor is missing or also lacks permission, the share will be disabled.
Limit shared work items only to current space: If it's enabled, only work items from the current space are shown on Board, Filter, and Timeline shares
Audit tab
The Audit tab provides a history of configuration changes. It shows:
When the space configuration was created
Who created/updated it
The date and time of the last update