Warsaw Dynamics
Advanced search
Log in
Warsaw Dynamics
Search
Jump to section
    Navigation
    Details
    Page options
    Subscription
    Account
    Log in
    0/0
    Permission Schemes
    External Share for Jira
    Welcome to External Share for Jira Configurations & Permissions Global Settings Permission Schemes

    Permission Schemes

    • What are permission schemes?
    • How to apply permission schemes
      • External Share - Permission scheme
    • Do I need to use permission schemes?
        • Default permissions
      • Error Message

    What are permission schemes?

    Permission schemes allow you to limit or extend users' access to information and actions. On External Share for Jira, you can benefit from space (project) and work item (issue) level permission schemes.
    You can find out more about permission schemes here.

    How to apply permission schemes

    As a global administrator, you can navigate to the global settings of Approval Path,

    1. Click on the “Apps” dropdown menu

    2. Select the “External Share” option

    3. Select the “Global settings” option

    4. Select the “Permissions” tab

    On the permissions page, you can enable permission schemes.

    Frame 28.png

    External Share - Permission scheme

    Frame 27.png

    Permission

    Description

    External Share - Manage own shares

    Ability to view/create/edit/delete own share links in Jira space.

    External Share - Manage all shares in space

    Ability to view/create/edit/delete all share links in Jira space.

    • Leaving the permission fields empty will deny access to all users.

    • Global administrators always have access to space settings.

    • Space administrators must also be granted permissions through the permission scheme to access External Share features. They do not have automatic access. If they can access features without the proper permissions, please report it to our support team.

    Do I need to use permission schemes?

    Permission schemes help you add permission to different operations for users; if you do not need to customize permissions, default permissions will be respected.

    Default permissions

    When Jira Permission Scheme is disabled
    When groups and space roles are empty, all users will have access to all operations, including space-level access.

    When Jira Permission Scheme is enabled
    By default, no users have access to External Share operations. The space admin must first add permissions.


    Error Message

    Once the permission scheme is enabled, if a person without the necessary permissions tries to create, edit, or delete a share, an error message will appear.

    Frame 33 (1).png

    Error message “You do not have permission to create share”

     

    About us
    Our apps

    © Warsaw Dynamics, 2025. All rights reserved.